Claysburg-Kimmel School Board Minutes of April 3, 2019 Work Session

The Board met in work session at 7:04 pm on Wednesday, April 3, 2019, with the following present: Mona Eckley, Roger Knisely, Mandi Daugherty, Heidi Kennedy, Geri Mock, Craig Burket, Jeremy Knott, Shelda Repko, Richard Gergely, Elizabeth Coyle (Bedford Gazette), Jerome Dodson, Steve Puskar, Matt Hall, Elizabeth Benjamin (Beard Legal Group), Darren McLaurin, and Michelle Smithmyer.

Mr. McLaurin noted that the Board also held an Executive Session, for the purpose of discussing personnel items, earlier in the evening.

Mr. Puskar gave his Secondary Principal's report. He discussed the Secondary School Eligibility Report.

Mr. Hall gave his Elementary Principal's report. He discussed Elementary Reading.

Mr. McLaurin gave presented his Annual Report and State of the District for 2018-2019.

Mr. Dodson demonstrated the new drone to be used as part of the Drones, Bionics, and App Development Class.

A recommendation to re-appoint Michelle Smithmyer and Darren McLaurin as the District's representatives to the Blair County Tax Collection Bureau will be included on the official agenda.

Administration recommends no increase to Cafeteria prices for the 2019-2020 school year.

The renewal contract with Nutrition, Inc., will be presented for approval next week.

A recommendation to approve summer staff (Kindergarten Summer Camp and Secondary Summer School) will be included on the official agenda.

Zach Repko offered \$250 for the out of service work truck.

Administration recommends Tyler Glass be added to the list of Non-Instructional substitutes.

The Board discussed Staff recognitions.

A recommendation for additions to the list of Approved Volunteers will be included in next week's agenda.

PDE requires the Board review Policy # 249 – Bullying/Cyberbullying every 3 years. This policy will be distributed with the April agenda for review.

The Board discussed the Athletic Facilities project.

The Board adjourned from the Work Session at 9:00 pm.

Michelle R. Smithmyer

Board Secretary